Tuesday, 4 July 2017

IMA Resolutions on Doctor’s Day

IMA Resolutions on Doctor’s Day Doctor’s Day, as we all know, is the day dedicated to the memory of Dr BC Roy. The day marks his birthday and it is also the day when his physical body left us. But his soul is still alive in our minds. This day also reminds us of our purpose with which we chose medicine as our profession and our responsibilities towards the community. Hence, in a befitting tribute to this legend of medicine, on Doctor’s Day this year, the Indian Medical Association (IMA) took some resolutions. • Our theme for “Doctor’s Day” for the year 2017 will be “My Family Doctor”. • IMA will have “Zero Tolerance” for unethical practices by medical professionals and or medical establishments. These include Referral Fee, Cuts, Commissions received without involving any services. Offenders can get their names removed from the primary membership of IMA. • IMA will not tolerate any targets given to medical specialists who join hospitals. IMA will soon come out with a standard appointment contract between consultant and corporate hospitals. • IMA supports a “uniform code of medical ethics” for medical establishments, industry and doctors. • IMA does not support criminal prosecution of doctors in clinical practice. • Medical or surgical consent should include not only the competency of the doctor or establishment to handle a procedure, but also competency of facilities available to handle complications. • IMA Awards announced on “Doctor’s Day” will be presented during Centenary Celebrations of Medical Conferences in India on 23rd & 24th September, 2017 at New Delhi. • IMA will intensify its public image through “IMA Thank You” & “Public Health Awareness Campaigns” using various advertisement modules. • IMA Accreditation and Academic Council will be operational from 15th July 2017. Dr KK Kalra Ex CEO NABH has joined IMA as CEO of the Council. • IMA opposes reduction of Non Practicing Allowance (NPA) and delinking it to basic pay in the 7th Pay Commission. Dr KK Aggarwal National President IMA & HCFI Recipient of Padma Shri, Dr BC Roy National Award,Vishwa Hindi Samman, National Science Communication Award & FICCI Health Care Personality of the Year Award Vice President Confederation of Medical Associations of Asia and Oceania (CMAAO) Past Honorary Secretary General IMA Past Senior National Vice President IMA President Heart Care Foundation of India Gold Medallist Nagpur University Limca Book of Record Holder in CPR 10 Honorary Professor of Bioethics SRM Medical College Hospital & Research Centre Sr. Consultant Medicine & Cardiology, Dean Board of Medical Education, Moolchand Editor in Chief IJCP Group of Publications & eMedinewS Member Ethics Committee Medical Council of India (2013-14) Chairman Ethics Committee Delhi Medical Council (2009-15) Elected Member Delhi Medical Council (2004-2009) Chairman IMSA Delhi Chapter (March 10- March 13) Director IMA AKN Sinha Institute (08-09) Finance Secretary IMA (07-08) Chairman IMAAMS (06-07) President Delhi Medical Association (05-06)

No comments:

Post a Comment